Meta weapons as they stand (Messer doesn't need so much attention)

Have a suggestion or an idea for Life is Feudal: MMO ? Post it here!

SandorsChickens

Meta weapons as they stand (Messer doesn't need so much attention)

Post by SandorsChickens » 15 Jul 2017, 11:28

Before I begin, I want to say I've put many many hours into duel/pvp servers, playing around with different builds and weapons, so please hear me out. I've been using the gross messer as my main weapon of choice since I started playing, and I want to share my knowledge to hopefully give the devs and some players a better understanding on the balance of the meta weapons as they currently stand. Currently I believe there are 3 meta weapons for duels, gross messer, boar spear, and claymore. Claymore is pretty balanced so I won't go into it. Gross messer, sure some can say it's strong, but I don't believe it's overpowered to the point where it needs multiple nerfs. Sure, say what you want about it being a spammy weapon with a long reach for a 1 hander, but a lot of people that complain about it, don't have good enough footwork and parrying skills (which take skill and practice to be good at) to beat a good messer user. The messer's damage is also right where it should be against half-plate users. Most people who build half-plate will be using a 2 hander, and in my opinion and experience, messer vs half-plate 2 hander build is right where it should be as far as balancing goes. If the messer is nerfed more than it has been already, it will be completely useless against any half-plate user, especially if they use 2 handed weapons, as they do a lot of damage already, the only circumstance I believe the messer is "overpowered" in, is against un-armored opponents. Now I will talk about the boar spear, say what you want, but I've used this weapon many times in many duels and in team fights, and It's just downright overpowered. It is only 2 stones in weight meaning it only requires 20 strength to wield, as it stan