Import savegame to server hoster?

General discussion about Life is Feudal MMO and Life is Feudal: Your Own, The main section and backbone of the forums.

FileXxX
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 20 Sep 2014, 16:41

Import savegame to server hoster?

Post by FileXxX » 30 Sep 2014, 13:24

I was thinking of renting a server and I wanted to import my old "savegame" or "world" into the server, with all the player skills and stats. Is that even possible?


GrimmLiberty
 
Posts: 66
Joined: 20 Sep 2014, 14:13

Re: Import savegame to server hoster?

Post by GrimmLiberty » 30 Sep 2014, 13:36

Make sure your LiF server is NOT running on the local AND remote server.
Then run HeidiSQL on your current system
Highlight your LiF_1 db.
From Tools, choose Export database as SQL
Save the file for later use.

Set up your new server with the empty DB,
then in Heidi click on the db,
and from File choose load sql file,
load the one you saved earlier into editor,
check 'send batch in one go' (drop down near the blue run arrow)
and run it.
Should give no errors and work fine.


FileXxX
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 20 Sep 2014, 16:41

Re: Import savegame to server hoster?

Post by FileXxX » 30 Sep 2014, 13:49

GrimmLiberty wrote:Make sure your LiF server is NOT running on the local AND remote server.
Then run HeidiSQL on your current system
Highlight your LiF_1 db.
From Tools, choose Export database as SQL
Save the file for later use.

Set up your new server with the empty DB,
then in Heidi click on the db,
and from File choose load sql file,
load the one you saved earlier into editor,
check 'send batch in one go' (drop down near the blue run arrow)
and run it.
Should give no errors and work fine.


Could you please describe it a little more detailed for a noob in SQL things? I know a few things, but I just don't know what I have to do when I start HeidiSQL. I know I have to export the database from my local server. But... how? I know how to put it up to the new server though.

FYI: The current server is running on my computer. It's not a dedicated one. Simply created with "Create game" in the main menu. That's why I can't connect to any server with HeidiSQL!


Shu
 
Posts: 84
Joined: 23 Sep 2014, 19:16

Re: Import savegame to server hoster?

Post by Shu » 30 Sep 2014, 15:57

The embedded server actually is a normal running MariaDB/MySQL server. It has TCP networking disabled though. I don't have the game installed here at work, but somewhere in the server directory within the game installation there is a text based settings file where networking is explicitly disabled. If you edit that out, you might be able to connect to it with HeidiSQL while the game is running.
Otherwise it probably only lets you connect through named pipes, and I don't know if HeidiSQL has that option. I never looked for it.

From there on you can just export your entire "lif_1" schema to a SQL script file, which you can run on the new server to reconstruct your world there.
Warning: It is not just the tables! LiF uses a good bunch of stored procedures in the DBMS. These are NOT part of the "lif_1" schema! You either have to separately backup and restore the table "ROUTINES" from the "INFORMATION_SCHEMA", or you could run the remote server once before you inject your backup. The dedicated server will set up a new world complete with the procedures. After that you can just drop the fresh "lif_1" schema and import your saved one.


FileXxX
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 20 Sep 2014, 16:41

Re: Import savegame to server hoster?

Post by FileXxX » 30 Sep 2014, 16:12

Shu wrote:The embedded server actually is a normal running MariaDB/MySQL server. It has TCP networking disabled though. I don't have the game installed here at work, but somewhere in the server directory within the game installation there is a text based settings file where networking is explicitly disabled. If you edit that out, you might be able to connect to it with HeidiSQL while the game is running.
Otherwise it probably only lets you connect through named pipes, and I don't know if HeidiSQL has that option. I never looked for it.

From there on you can just export your entire "lif_1" schema to a SQL script file, which you can run on the new server to reconstruct your world there.
Warning: It is not just the tables! LiF uses a good bunch of stored procedures in the DBMS. These are NOT part of the "lif_1" schema! You either have to separately backup and restore the table "ROUTINES" from the "INFORMATION_SCHEMA", or you could run the remote server once before you inject your backup. The dedicated server will set up a new world complete with the procedures. After that you can just drop the fresh "lif_1" schema and import your saved one.


Thank you so much for answering! HeidiSQL has an option called "MySQL (named pipe), so should I use that one? My problem is: HeidiSQL asks for a Hostname/IP (I think "localhost" is right?), username, password and port. I don't know what I should use as a username or password.
We use port 28000, so I typed that one. When I try to connect with localhost and 28000, a message in the server window pops up:

"SimTCPServer: incomingConnection"

But nothing happens and after a while, HeidiSQL says "Lost connection to MySQL server at 'waiting for initial communication packet', system error: 0

I have no idea what to do :( I'll look for that setting file you're talking about.

edit: Can't find anything.


Shu
 
Posts: 84
Joined: 23 Sep 2014, 19:16

Re: Import savegame to server hoster?

Post by Shu » 30 Sep 2014, 21:10

Hi!

I'm at home now and had a look. I tried the named pipe option too, but with no success. I suppose the "IP" there isn't an actual IP address, but some ID string that is buried in the compiled game somewhere. Without some more intense digging not easily obtainable it seems.

But I did find the settings file I spoke of! It is here:
"(ProgramFiles)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Life is Feudal Your Own\daemon\mariadb\my.ini"

The line to change would be "skip-networking=ON" to "OFF", or simply deleting that line completely, since networking should be on by default.

I didn't try this in order to not disturb my dedicated server with another instance of MariaDB trying to run, but my hope is that the local "create a world" server does actually use the settings from that file. At least "my.ini" is the usual file for any MySQL or MariaDB database for any kind of configuration, so it should work.


Xtoor
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Dec 2014, 20:20

Re: Import savegame to server hoster?

Post by Xtoor » 08 Dec 2014, 20:22

Shu the above stated will make the database server networked however theres no way for me to find user pass for it, it will simply give me denied everytime i try to log into it


Xtoor
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Dec 2014, 20:20

Re: Import savegame to server hoster?

Post by Xtoor » 09 Dec 2014, 17:16

ok soo far i found a way to import it over to MariaDB server to be able to dump it as SQL file by copying

Code: Select all
steamapps\common\Life is Feudal Your Own\daemon\mariadb\data\lif_1
steamapps\common\Life is Feudal Your Own\daemon\mariadb\data\ib_logfile0
steamapps\common\Life is Feudal Your Own\daemon\mariadb\data\ib_logfile1
steamapps\common\Life is Feudal Your Own\daemon\mariadb\data\ibdata1


into my dedicated DB and replace existing

Code: Select all
G:\Apps\MariaDB\data



then i can connect to it using HeidiDB client and extract the SQL file but still gets corrupted along the way :sorry:


Olblach
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 11 Nov 2014, 18:41

Re: Import savegame to server hoster?

Post by Olblach » 09 Dec 2014, 20:09

You need to leave the game, close the server window then open a command shell and go to the mariadb bin directory, then you type:

mysqld --skip-grant-tables

then you can log as root without password with Heidi or another tool.


Xtoor
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 08 Dec 2014, 20:20

Re: Import savegame to server hoster?

Post by Xtoor » 09 Dec 2014, 21:51

man you just saved me the headache however DB are already corrupted no salvation shame but that trick do facilitate the export of built-in database thank you. :beer:


Nevermind i managed to save the data the above did work i just needed to file Verify the game and voila! :Yahoo!: :Yahoo!:

Return to General Discussion

cron