Mod Making question

Place for sharing your game modifications for Life is Feudal: Your Own

Drunkjedi
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Dec 2015, 06:00

Mod Making question

Post by Drunkjedi » 18 Mar 2016, 06:25

Is it possible for game models to be add into this game? I am no program only thing i do is play around with 3d modeling.


Aircode
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 23 Mar 2015, 13:57

Re: Mod Making question

Post by Aircode » 18 Mar 2016, 08:27

Yes it is possible. You need to create some additional preferences like;
Client side
- create an object for your model in /data/cm_objects.xml
- create an entry for your object type in /data/object_types.xml
- create a recipe for your new object in /data/recipe.xml
- create a recipe requirement to build this object in /data/recipe_requirement.xml

Server side
- create an object for your model in /data/cm_objects.xml
- create SQL entry's for object_types table in your lif database
- create SQL entry's for the recipe table in your lif database
- create SQL entry's for the recipe_requirement table..

voila your model is now buildable ingame.

P.S. You need to convert your model into Torque3D .dds & .dts
maybe send a pm to Custodian he seems a bit more experienced like me.

User avatar
Custodian
Mod Developer
 
Posts: 655
Joined: 08 Jun 2015, 14:58
Location: Lisbon

Re: Mod Making question

Post by Custodian » 18 Mar 2016, 14:53

Aircode wrote:P.S. You need to convert your model into Torque3D .dds & .dts
maybe send a pm to Custodian he seems a bit more experienced like me.

Or you may describe process yourself, as you have added a lot of custom buildings and objects to your test server ;)

User avatar
Laertes
Devoted Believer
 
Posts: 224
Joined: 08 Mar 2015, 05:16
Location: Berlin/Germany

Re: Mod Making question

Post by Laertes » 18 Mar 2016, 15:35

Is there any way to export an LiF-.dds/.dts model into Blender (or Maya)?

We´ve got some 3D-Modelers with itchy fingers, but as I heard they´d need some kind of scale (and it would also be nice to use original textures).
Image

User avatar
Malkom
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 30 Sep 2014, 11:08

Re: Mod Making question

Post by Malkom » 18 Mar 2016, 18:07

Laertes wrote:Is there any way to export an LiF-.dds/.dts model into Blender (or Maya)?

We´ve got some 3D-Modelers with itchy fingers, but as I heard they´d need some kind of scale (and it would also be nice to use original textures).


The only way I've found it with the help of Ultimate Unwrap 3D. But it is not affordable and therefore not tested on how good it is.
Image


Drunkjedi
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Dec 2015, 06:00

Re: Mod Making question

Post by Drunkjedi » 18 Mar 2016, 19:07

This is for blender to import and export .dts
https://github.com/portify/io_scene_dts

This is a plugin for gimp to export .dds blender will open .dds textures already.
https://code.google.com/archive/p/gimp-dds/downloads


Syn
Zealous Believer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 20 Mar 2016, 14:37

Re: Mod Making question

Post by Syn » 26 Mar 2016, 11:41

Aircode wrote:Yes it is possible. You need to create some additional preferences like;
Client side
- create an object for your model in /data/cm_objects.xml
- create an entry for your object type in /data/object_types.xml
- create a recipe for your new object in /data/recipe.xml
- create a recipe requirement to build this object in /data/recipe_requirement.xml

Server side
- create an object for your model in /data/cm_objects.xml
- create SQL entry's for object_types table in your lif database
- create SQL entry's for the recipe table in your lif database
- create SQL entry's for the recipe_requirement table..

voila your model is now buildable ingame.

P.S. You need to convert your model into Torque3D .dds & .dts
maybe send a pm to Custodian he seems a bit more experienced like me.



I have gotten as far as loading my models in game and collision works. Had some issues with grouping and didn't know the correct layout. I made a new stone wall and am trying to use the DDS textures from the original stone wall. Getting just a solid gray object in game as if it's using the material color I chose in blender.

Return to Game mods