About the localization [English - Spanish]

General discussion about Life is Feudal MMO and Life is Feudal: Your Own, The main section and backbone of the forums.

Kraehtot

About the localization [English - Spanish]

Post by Kraehtot » 06 Sep 2015, 17:47

[English]:

Hello everyone!

I've been watching and following this game for a long time now. I liked where it was going and it really looked promising. Why am I talking in past tense, then?: I feel fooled and outraged.

I'm both a gamer and a student. A Translation and Interpreting student. What I felt when I read about the localization update can't be said politely, so I better won't. It's insulting for both YOU and the localization professionals that the developers said that this project is too big to be understood by those who's job is to localize, translate and be all day long surrounded by words. I assure you, I'm just a student but I'm more than skilled when it comes to translate a game like this, and yet we've been told that professionals can't?

The problem is money. I'm almost sure they didn't think translating their game would be as expensive as it is. I would have understood if they had been sincere and said they couldn't afford a professional translation and asked for help, but shamelessly lying to those who have already given money to help your project to keep going forward so they work free for you, it's one of the most disrespectul things I've seen in the gamer community. It looks like they even made a competition out of it between languages so they can have their game translated quickly. If a bunch of fans could completely translate it into French in about 6 days... isn't it funny that they claim that an efficient localization team isn't able to do the same?

Now, what has been done, cannot be undone. I just thought the fair thing for you gamers and people who has helped this project to know the truth.

Regards