Making a server

Welcome to the Life is Feudal: MMO community! Here you can ask your basic starters questions.

Naiani
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 19:14

Making a server

Post by Naiani » 19 Sep 2014, 19:17

Hello,

My husband and I are trying to set up a server for the two of us to play on. We have tried making a server, which works fine for the person making it, but the server never shows up on the server lists for the "join server" for the other person. We can see lots of servers up, but never the one we made. Any suggestions or help would be most appreciated :D


Malbios
True Believer
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 20:16

Re: Making a server

Post by Malbios » 19 Sep 2014, 22:13

[Edit] Oh, just to be precise, I'm talking about the dedicated server.

We had the same issue for whoever was hosting the server, but were able to get that person on by modifying this file in their game directory: Steam\SteamApps\common\Life is Feudal Your Own\scripts\client\serverConnection.cs

First modification in the initConnection function (starts somewhere near line 12):
It looked liked this:
Code: Select all
function initConnection()
{
   hack($JoinGameAddress);

and now like this:
Code: Select all
function initConnection()
{
   hack($JoinGameAddress);
   $JoinGameAddress = "127.0.0.1:28000";

Where 127.0.0.1 is the IP of the server (127.0.0.1 stands for "localhost" in this case) and 28000 is the port used by the server.

Second modification in the connect function (starts somewhere near line 552):
Here you have to comment this line:
Code: Select all
ServerConnection.connect(%server);

which means changing it into this
Code: Select all
//ServerConnection.connect(%server);

and then add a new line below it:
Code: Select all
ServerConnection.connect("127.0.0.1:28000");

(same IP and port as above)

Then join any non-passworded and non-full server and you're redirected to your own server.

Please be aware that meddling with the game scripts like this might or might not cause unexpected issues...


valirius
Alpha Tester
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 28 Nov 2011, 11:20
Location: Time-paradox.net

Re: Making a server

Post by valirius » 20 Sep 2014, 05:56

with this method of connecting server issues here this error:
Code: Select all
ERRR 2014-09-20 09:53:58.908 {00} <NOSCOPE> DB error #1305: PROCEDURE lif_1.p_yo_check_steam_accout_exists doe
s not exist. Query: CALL p_yo_check_steam_accout_exists(76561197997943437);
WARN 2014-09-20 09:53:58.908 {00} <NOSCOPE> DB::mfRS(0 ms) CALL p_yo_check_steam_accout_exists(765611979979434
37);

Can you help with this?
ImageYou are entering    Time ParadoxImage


Malbios
True Believer
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 20:16

Re: Making a server

Post by Malbios » 20 Sep 2014, 07:06

Sorry, we did not get that error, but it seems like your server forgot how to check for valid Steam users...

Did you modify anything else?

I've attached the full serverConnection.cs we are using.
If yours (in the client game directory, not the dedicated server directory) looks like that and you still get that error, I'd suggest re-installing the dedicated server (which basically means "out of ideas", sorry).


Ajaxx84
Alpha Tester
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 23 Aug 2014, 15:55

Re: Making a server

Post by Ajaxx84 » 20 Sep 2014, 07:44

Just used this method as my room mate is unable to see the game I am hosting. However he keeps getting a pop-up saying that his connection to the server has timed out. any thoughts?

I have turned off my anti-virus firewall, portforwarded 28000-28002 and added 28000-28002 as exceptions to the router's firewall.
Image


Draknazul
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Sep 2014, 11:09

Re: Making a server

Post by Draknazul » 20 Sep 2014, 10:10

i had the problem too, firewall is not the problem when you make a outbound rule and open the ports for lif

you also must change the ip to your roomemates ip (if he is the host)

hope this help


Radical
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 20 Sep 2014, 10:17
Location: France / England

Re: Making a server

Post by Radical » 20 Sep 2014, 10:19

Same issue here me and a mate cant seem to join a server that we have made as its not in the list?

Anyone found out how yet?
Image


Malbios
True Believer
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 11 Sep 2014, 20:16

Re: Making a server

Post by Malbios » 20 Sep 2014, 10:59

Just found an even easier way to force your game to join a specific server.

Disregard the modifications explained above and instead just go to this file: Steam\SteamApps\common\Life is Feudal Your Own\scripts\yo.cs

There you have to search for the joinToRemoteServer function and change it into this:
Code: Select all
function joinToRemoteServer(%addr, %password)
   {
      //$JoinGameAddress = %addr;
      //$JoinGamePassword = %password;
      $JoinGameAddress = "127.0.0.1:28000";
      $JoinGamePassword = "mypassword";
      
      initConnection();
   }


Where 127.0.0.1 is the server IP, 28000 is the server port and mypassword is, of course, the server password.

Then just try to join any of the non-passworded servers available in the public server list and you should connect to yours instead.

[EDIT] Please keep in mind that this will only help with "server is not visible in list" and not with any routing issues or database problems.


Vandalzd
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 23 Sep 2014, 09:54

Re: Making a server

Post by Vandalzd » 23 Sep 2014, 19:01

[quote="Malbios"][/quote]

Thank You for this! My firends can finaly join my server!


arka
Alpha Tester
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 16 Mar 2012, 10:36
Location: Canada, New Brunswick

Re: Making a server

Post by arka » 23 Sep 2014, 22:41

Hmm, I tired that, but when clicking on a random non password server, it actually connects to that server and not the one I edited in the file any thoughts ?


Toniraro
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 24 Sep 2014, 13:35

Re: Making a server

Post by Toniraro » 24 Sep 2014, 18:32

I have done everything and apparently its ok but people who join in LAN mode dont see the objects.Any idea.


Digger322
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 24 Sep 2014, 18:52

Re: Making a server

Post by Digger322 » 25 Sep 2014, 15:35

Ajaxx84 wrote:Just used this method as my room mate is unable to see the game I am hosting. However he keeps getting a pop-up saying that his connection to the server has timed out. any thoughts?

I have turned off my anti-virus firewall, portforwarded 28000-28002 and added 28000-28002 as exceptions to the router's firewall.


I have the exact same problem. I've even forwarded these ports on my ISPs router.


Inxane
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 23 Sep 2014, 12:29

Re: Making a server

Post by Inxane » 28 Sep 2014, 14:21

Digger322 wrote:
Ajaxx84 wrote:Just used this method as my room mate is unable to see the game I am hosting. However he keeps getting a pop-up saying that his connection to the server has timed out. any thoughts?

I have turned off my anti-virus firewall, portforwarded 28000-28002 and added 28000-28002 as exceptions to the router's firewall.


I have the exact same problem. I've even forwarded these ports on my ISPs router.


I had the same problem, but i got it to work, trippled check everything, and also i forwarded the port 28000-28003 UDP & TCP.

Hope it helps


Silvertear33
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 08 Oct 2014, 21:53

Re: Making a server

Post by Silvertear33 » 08 Oct 2014, 21:58

I have the same problem with connecting to my server from an outside ip aka out the door to my isp and back in. it's not a problem if i connect locally. my server is hosted off a windows server 2008 R2 machine. i've added rules to inbound and outbound in it's firewall, i even took the firewall down for a shot time to see if that would fix things. also my router is a PFsense box so a firewall. ive added in the NAT portion of the firewall as well as a rule. 28000-28003 tcp/udp just for kicks i went 1 over on the port number. still no dice. my RDP works fine thru my firewall now why can't this server?


Korpisoturi83
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 13 Oct 2014, 19:43

Re: Making a server

Post by Korpisoturi83 » 13 Oct 2014, 19:54

Does anyone have solution to my little problem? When i purchased LiF, and stated it at very first time, i created my own world (server perhaps?). I managed to play on it by myself for 60hrs or so, and then one evening the game crashed. Don't get me wrong, it crashed several times past that 60hrs and that is ok because i understand its alpha, but this time, when i restarted it, it gives the "loading server" screen, but within a few minutes it gives a pop-up saying: "The local server can't be accessed". It has been this for 4 days now. I have no idea what's wrong.. Is it that the devs are doing updates or something, and all i can do is wait, or can i do something to get me back with my game.. :%)

User avatar
Njord
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 28 Jan 2015, 13:43

Re: Making a server

Post by Njord » 29 Jan 2015, 18:11

hi guys , when i tried to connect my friend server it was giving time out. how can i fix it thanks.
Image

User avatar
Azzerhoden
Alpha Tester
 
Posts: 1621
Joined: 08 May 2014, 17:44

Re: Making a server

Post by Azzerhoden » 20 Nov 2015, 04:41

Not to practice Necromancy here, but I just got a server up and running and it would not appear in the server list. However, I was able to connect to it using the above suggestion.
| - Alpha Tester and Zealous Believer
Image

Kingdom of Hyperion founding Duchy - A practical RP Community est. 1999 - Apply Today!

Return to Newcomer Section