LiF Guild Webpage Functionality: Suggestions and a Discussion

All discussions relevant to Guilds go here!
Un86Rn
True Believer

LiF Guild Webpage Functionality: Suggestions and a Discussion

Post by Un86Rn » 07 Jul 2017, 18:25

Hi guys! I'm a webmaster of a major LiF guild and below I'd like to share some of my observations on the functionality and concepts of custom LiF Guild webpages. These are usually hosted on platforms specializing in gaming clan websites, such as Enjin, Iclann et cetera, and are developed in a wysiwyg manner straight in the web. Here, I would like to try to compile a comprehensive list of modules or processes that are in fact useful to the end users and/or guild management and enhance their actual LiF gaming experience.
With LiF, the specifics are that everything is done thru VoiP and the game emphasizes voice communication and it's advantages, as compared to older MMOs that had text communication and even text interface. The availability of Voice comms means that your interlocutor is instantly informed of an incoming communication and also must provide an instant reply. Such is the spectre of features of VoiP, that text/written comms are reduced to a minimum and used in very specific cases only.
Another defining aspect of comms and mass information in LiF (and a clan webpage is, certainly, an instance of mass communication media) is the availability of social networks where you can setup a basic Wall and other most basic features and have your traffic forwarded to the end user instantly and securely - everyone uses social networks anyways.
Thus, the functionality of a custom-hosted Guild webpage must surpass the social networks' features considerably and by a large margin, so that there is a real performance gain in relocating to the new service and no comms quality (and usability) is lost.